Warning! Spoilers for Daredevil: Woman Without Fear #1 by Marvel Comics below

The three-issue solo book Daredevil: Woman Without Fear, starring Marvel Comics’ new Daredevil, Elektra Natchios, will debut in January.

Daredevil: Woman Without Fear is written by Chip Zdarsky and illustrated by Rafael De Latorre, according to Marvel’s January 2022 releases. The Elektra-led limited series is a continuation of Zdarsky’s continuing Daredevil run, and it picks up just where the Devil’s Reign event left off.

Woman Without Fear  Storyline

Daredevil: Woman Without Fear
Woman Without Fear

Matt Murdock is imprisoned during Zdarsky’s run on Marvel’s primary Daredevil comic, leaving Hell’s Kitchen without its Guardian Devil. Elektra has pledged to assume the mantle of Daredevil in the absence of her former boyfriend, Matt, in order to prove to him that she is more than a murderer. Someone “puts oneself directly in her path with deadly repercussions” in the upcoming Woman Without Fear series.

Elektra Natchios was created by Frank Miller and originally appeared in Daredevil #168 in 1980. The ruthless assassin has gone on to become one of the most recognisable figures in the Daredevil mythos, with various live-action adaptations, the most recent of which was for Marvel Television’s Netflix series.

The Man Without Fear

Daredevil: Woman Without Fear
Daredevil (1964) #1

The subtitle of Elektra’s solo Daredevil book, Woman Without Fear, is, of course, a reference to Matt Murdock’s nickname, “the Man Without Fear,” which was first used on the cover of Stan Lee and Bill Everett’s Daredevil #1 in 1964. It’s also a wonderful nod to Frank Miller and John Romita Jr.’s character-defining five-part limited series Daredevil: The Man Without Fear, which delves into Elektra’s and Matt’s shared history and was published in 1993.

Daredevil: Woman Without Fear #1, written by Chip Zdarsky and illustrated by Rafael De Latorre, will be released in January 2022 by Marvel Comics.

Was this helpful?

Thanks for your feedback!
Explore from around the WEB