Sage Mode is an incredible ability that exists in the Naruto world. This special state allows a user to absorb chakra from nature, known as Senjutsu chakra, and make it their own strength. All the physical attributes of the user are boosted by utilizing this power and they enter a heightened state, putting them in a league of their own.

Although powerful, the Sage Mode cannot be kept active for an indefinite period of time, so there are certain limitations to this power, aside from the fact that this technique is incredibly difficult to learn in the first place.

In the Naruto series, several Sage Mode users have so far made appearances, and their Sage Mode characteristics frequently differ. Here are five different types of Sage Mode from the series and the five strongest users of the aforementioned abilities.

No. 5: Imperfect Toad Sage Mode, User: Jiraiya

Jiraiya using Imperfect Toad Sage Mode (Credits: Studio Pierrot)

One of the Three Great Sage regions, Mount Myoboku, is the source of knowledge for Toad Sage Mode. To enter Toad Sage Mode, one must undergo intense physical and mental training as well as learn how to harness the power of nature. However, not everyone is able to fully grasp this skill.

Those who are unable to master it are left with some frog-like traits and can only use a subpar version of this art. Although that is undoubtedly a drawback, it also makes it easier for the user to maneuver and perform tasks that standard Sage Mode restricts.

As the first Sage Mode user in the Naruto series, Jiraiya—one of the Legendary Sannin—used Mount Myoboku’s Imperfect Toad Sage Mode. For most opponents, it was practically hard to beat him once he assumed this form.

Jiraiya compensated for his inadequacy by calling forth Fukasaku and Shima, who assisted him in his collaborative ninjutsu and kneaded the Sage chakra in his place. As demonstrated by his battle with Pain in Amegakure, he was a proficient practitioner of this power.

No. 4: Perfect Toad Sage Mode, User: Naruto Uzumaki

Naruto using Perfect Toad Sage Mode
Naruto using Perfect Toad Sage Mode (Credits: Studio Pierrot)

The ability to use the perfect form of Sage Mode is attained when a person successfully blends their own chakra with the natural energy of their environment. The user’s slanted, frog-like eyes and orange pigmentation surrounding their eyes are indicators of this skill.

It takes a lot of focus to enter this form, especially for beginners, but the power boost it provides is remarkable enough to help the user take on the strongest characters in the whole series.

Naruto Uzumaki and Fukasaku traveled to Mount Myoboku following Jiraiya’s death to discover the power of Sage Mode. Because of his shadow-clones, he was able to master this art form more easily than Jiraiya did, even with minimal training.

During the Pain’s Invasion arc, Naruto utilized this skill to overpower him in combat. He became more adept at using this technique over time, to the point where he could enter this form in a matter of seconds.

No. 3: Snake Sage Mode, User: Kabuto Yakushi

Kabuto Yakushi
Kabuto Yakushi using Snake Sage Mode (Credits: Studio Pierrot)

Ryuuchi Cave, one of the Three Sage Areas, is the only place one can practice to become proficient in the Snake Sage Mode. Similar to the Toad Sage Mode, mastering this form is extremely challenging and requires the user to have a body with strong chakra reserves.

Few trainees are able to survive long enough to truly utilize this power, which is acquired by the Great White Snake injecting snake sage chakra into their bodies.

Kabuto was one of the select few who was able to use the Snake Sage Mode’s abilities. Following Orochimaru’s death, Kabuto gave himself as many powers as he could, and he finally went in search of the Snake Sage.

Jugo’s strength allowed Kabuto to passively absorb natural energy, which made it very easy for him to take on this shape. He was strong enough to take on Itachi Uchiha thanks to his Snake Sage Mode.

No. 2: First Hokage’s Sage Mode, User: Hashirama Senju

Hashirama Senju
Hashirama Senju using First Hokage Sage Mode (Credits: Studio Pierrot)

First Hokage was one of the rare Sage Mode types, and it seems that he was the only one who used this power. Though the source of his powers is unknown, it is thought to have been learned at the last of the Three Sage Areas in the Naruto world, Shikkotsu Woods.

This power leaves the person with round markings on their forehead and black markings all around their eyes. Like all Sage Mode types, it significantly increases the user’s power.

One of the greatest shinobi of his era, Hashirama Senju could hold his own against Madara Uchiha in combat. He used Sage Mode, just like Naruto Uzumaki, and possessed such control over it that he could enter it in a matter of seconds.

This Sage Mode considerably improved his Wood Release skills in addition to giving him an extremely high boost in physical attributes.

No. 1: Six Paths Sage Mode, User: Naruto Uzumaki

Naruto using Six Paths Sage Mode
Naruto using Six Paths Sage Mode (Credits: Studio Pierrot)

The ability to enter Six Paths Sage Mode is exclusive to Hagoromo Otsutsuki, the Sage of Six Paths. This power is among the strongest, if not the strongest, in the Naruto world.

It doesn’t give the user any markings around their eyes like regular Sage Mode does, but when they use this power, their eyes gain a plus sign. As long as the user has access to their chakra, it also grants them access to all of the Tailed Beasts’ abilities.

The only person known to have used the Six Paths Sage Mode is Naruto Uzumaki. He was able to acquire this power after meeting Hagoromo Otsutsuki during the Fourth Great Ninja War. Naruto was able to battle and even defeat Six Paths Madara Uchiha because of this power.

In this form, Naruto Uzumaki can summon the abilities of every Tailed Beast, as demonstrated in his battle with Madara Uchiha and later Delta.

Was this helpful?

Thanks for your feedback!
Explore from around the WEB