One Piece and Naruto have been battling it out for decades, each trying to vie for the superior position. This time, the fans have engaged in a discussion to determine which of the two anime shows offers the best power-up. Every once in a while, when a shonen protagonist is up against a considerably powerful opponent and they are stuck in a difficult position, they will suddenly gain a new power that helps them defeat their enemies.


This trope is so common in shonen animes that some of them even have a name for it – an Awakening. Although they can be considered a lazy solution due to the nature of power-ups and how they are introduced to the story, these flashy power-up scenes always manage to hype up fans even as they overlook the narrative shortcomings.

Among the numerous power-ups from shonen manga series, two legendary power-ups stand out due to their distinctive natures: Haki in One Piece and Sage Mode in Naruto. Fans of both communities knock heads frequently over which power-up is the best. While both power-ups grant their users unique abilities during combat, the question of which power-up is the best is still up for debate.

What Is Haki In One Piece?

One Piece Haki
One Piece Haki

Haki is a latent, mysterious power that all characters of One Piece possess. It allows one to use their spiritual energy to increase and develop various powers and abilities. These abilities could range from feeling the presence of others to hardening one’s body, and more. Although everyone possesses Haki, not everyone recognizes their potential and utilizes their Haki. As Dark King Silvers Rayleigh says:

“Haki” is a power that lies dormant in all the world’s creatures… “presence”, “fighting spirit” and “intimidation”… It is not different from the things that humans can naturally sense such as these… ‘The act of not doubting’. That is strength!

The series has proven that only the strongest characters with unshakeable determination and willpower are able to awaken their Haki. Despite how easy it may seem, Haki is an extremely challenging ability to learn and master.

Also Read: One Piece: Why Couldn’t Luffy Nullify Katakuri’s Ability Despite Haki? – The True Power of Future Sight, Explained

There are three subtypes of Haki: Observation Haki, Armament Haki, and Conqueror’s Haki. These three types of Hakis were teased in the anime before it was formally introduced to the viewers. In a flashback between Dr. Hiriluk and Chopper in episode #85, Hiriluk described pirates having well-trained bodies (Armament Haki), eyes like an eagle (Observation Haki), and voices like thunder splitting the sky (Conqueror’s Haki).

How Is Haki Better Than Naruto’s Sage Mode?

Naruto Sage Mode
Naruto Sage Mode

In Naruto, Sage Mode is an unusual state in which characters combine their own chakra with natural energy to create senjutsu chakra. This allows them access to the world’s natural energy, granting them unique abilities and enhancing their existing techniques. Although Sage Mode has its advantages, there is no doubt that Haki in One Piece is more versatile between the two since it has three different modes that make it more adaptable in different situations.

Also Read: “New age big 3”: Jujutsu Kaisen and One Piece Have Found the Most Unlikely Competition for US’s Social Media Engagement

While Armament Haki toughens the body or the surrounding things, making them extremely tough and endurable to damage, Observation Haki allows users to sense others’ feelings, predict their actions, and feel hidden dangers, making it a huge advantage in battles.

Unlike Sage Mode, Haki does not have any time limits, allowing them to use their powers for an unlimited duration. Additionally, Sage Mode requires constant focus and natural energy gathering, which can be a disadvantage in a long fight. However, it is important to note that continuous use of Haki can deplete the user’s energy and knock them unconscious.

Was this helpful?

Thanks for your feedback!
Explore from around the WEB